Editing Extended-join

Jump to: navigation, search

Warning: You are not logged in. Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits. If you log in or create an account, your edits will be attributed to your username, along with other benefits.

The edit can be undone. Please check the comparison below to verify that this is what you want to do, and then save the changes below to finish undoing the edit.
Latest revision Your text
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{DISPLAYTITLE:IRCv3.1 extended-join Extension}}
 
{{DISPLAYTITLE:IRCv3.1 extended-join Extension}}
 
The extended-join capability extends the JOIN message to include the account name, or a placeholder if the user hasn’t identified with services. This capability MUST be referred to as ‘extended-join’ at capability negotiation time.
 
 
When enabled, the JOIN message will designate the account name of the user when they join a channel.
 
 
The JOIN message is one of the following:
 
<source style="border:1px dashed blue">
 
:nick!user@host JOIN #channelname accountname :Real Name
 
</source>
 
 
This message represents that the user identified by nick!user@host has logged in to an acount prior to channel ingress. The penultimate parameter is the display name of that account. The last parameter is the user’s GECOS.
 
<source style="border:1px dashed blue">
 
:nick!user@host JOIN #channelname * :Real Name
 
</source>
 
 
This message represents that the user has not logged in to an account prior to channel ingress. As the penultimate parameter is an asterisk, this means that an asterisk is not a valid account name (which it is not in P10 or TS6 or ESVID).
 

Please note that all contributions to AllNetwork Documentation Wiki may be edited, altered, or removed by other contributors. If you do not want your writing to be edited mercilessly, then do not submit it here.
You are also promising us that you wrote this yourself, or copied it from a public domain or similar free resource (see AllNetwork Documentation Wiki:Copyrights for details). Do not submit copyrighted work without permission!

Cancel | Editing help (opens in new window)